Global variable-comparing with tasker

General discussions about Automagic and automation in general

Moderator: Martin

coconutxyz

Global variable-comparing with tasker

Post by coconutxyz » 07 Dec 2019 01:57

So i stumbled upon this thread on reddit

https://www.reddit.com/r/tasker/comment ... or_states/

and really liking how clean it is to set all the variables in this way and be able to call it in different profile/tasks. Is there any alternative way to do it in automagic?

P/s: as a total noob i personally thought automagic kinda relies a lot on using script/expression like how tasker is relying on plugin but at least tasker/plugin present things in individual field format with list of choices? please correct me if i am wrong.

Desmanto

Re: Global variable-comparing with tasker

Post by Desmanto » 07 Dec 2019 03:50

Same, simply use script with glovar, with the approriate trigger
Flow 1 (Entry task)
Trigger : Wifi connected, choose your SSID
Script : global_work = 1

Flow 2 (Exit Task)
Trigger : Wifi Disconnected, choose your SSID
Script : global_work = 0;

Use the glovar trigger in another flow (or any other) to detect changes in the global_work
Trigger : Global Variable - global_work
Expression : global_work == 1;
True, set ringer volume to 1 (or any work related set of actions)
False, set ringer volume to 3 (or the exit set of actions)

But you don't have to do so in Automagic if you only need the OR logic. Tasker and Automagic is completely different when dealing with profiles/triggers. viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7217
Automagic using OR logic in all of the triggers, while tasker use AND logic (and limited to 3 per profiles). Both can use the opposite logic. Automagic can use AND logic by using condition or subsequence flow. While Tasker can use OR logic by creating multiple profiles with the same task.