Selecting a different APN or renaming APN

General discussions about Automagic and automation in general

Moderator: Martin

Post Reply
petr.pavel
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Aug 2014 18:15

Selecting a different APN or renaming APN

Post by petr.pavel » 24 Aug 2014 18:21

Hi, can you please advise if it's possible to select an APN from a list of existing ones with Automagic, or rename a specific APN.

I've learned that I can't receive MMS with disabled data and crippling APN seems a good workaround for keeping data on while avoiding being connected to the Internet (and being charged for it). I'd like to set up a widget that toggles this with a single tap.

I've tried a couple of "APN switchers" and none of them worked on my Android 4.4.4 (Nexus 5). So I'm hoping that Automagic could be used for it.

Thanks
Petr

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 4437
Joined: 09 Nov 2012 14:23

Re: Selecting a different APN or renaming APN

Post by Martin » 25 Aug 2014 16:03

Hi,

Currently there exists no built-in action in Automagic that is capable to directly change the APN settings. It seems that Google locked the possibility to read and write APN settings down with Android 4.2 so I assume that an action in Automagic would require at least root.
I will add it to the features under consideration.

As a workaround you could try to change the setting using action Control UI or Execute Root Command: input tap x y.

Regards,
Martin

petr.pavel
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 Aug 2014 18:15

Re: Selecting a different APN or renaming APN

Post by petr.pavel » 26 Aug 2014 14:38

I see. Thanks for suggesting a workaround. I'll give it some thoughts.
(I have a stock non-rooted ROM.)

Post Reply