Send selected text to Evernote with 1 keystroke

Post your questions and help other users.

Moderator: Martin

Graham

Send selected text to Evernote with 1 keystroke

Post by Graham » 28 Dec 2013 17:05

From my tablet I can send selected text to Clippersync using "Clipper" by just hitting "copy", and then access that text later on my laptop, but I would rather send the text directly to Evernote, because in Evernote it is much easier to edit and organise. Clearly after selecting the text on the tablet I can hit "more" and then "share" and then "Evernote"... that works fine...... but three keystrokes! Since AUTOMAGIC can use "clipboard changed" as a trigger, is it possible to make a flow that would respond to my hitting "copy" (only one keystroke) by sending that clipping to Evernote....... or even to Dropbox or Googledrive. I am new to Automagic, and cannot see how to do it! Any help??

Martin

Re: Send selected text to Evernote with 1 keystroke

Post by Martin » 03 Jan 2014 15:56

Hi,

You can do this only in a rather technical way using an action Start Activity by sending an intent to the Evernote app:
-trigger Clipboard Changed
-action Copy Text From Clipboard: to variable clip_data
-action Start Activity

Set following properties in the start activity action:
-Action: android.intent.action.SEND
-Data Mime Type: text/plain
-Explicit Component: checked, select com.evernote as the package name (leave class name empty)
-Extras: putString("android.intent.extra.TEXT", clip_data);

Evernote developer documentation with some other interesting functions:
Evernote intent documentation

You can upload the clipboard data directly to Dropbox (or Google Drive) by writing the text to a file first and then upload that file:
-trigger Clipboard Changed
-action Copy Text From Clipboard: to variable clip_data
-action Write to File: {clip_data} to /storage/emulated/0/clipboard.txt (overwrite)
-action Dropbox Upload File: /storage/emulated/0/clipboard.txt to /clipboard.txt

Regards,