Manual start of flow

Post your feature requets for new triggers, conditions, actions and other improvements.

Moderator: Martin

Locked
bogdyro
Posts: 240
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 15:14

Manual start of flow

Post by bogdyro » 22 Jan 2017 11:59

Hi Martin. To debug a flow we're using execute flow from the menu. However if I have multiple triggers and conditions to check which trigger fired,executing a flow manually doesn't work. I have to create another condition like trigger=Manual to continue with flow execution and link to where I want the flow to go. Is it possible to add a feature to execute flow from a certain condition onwards to the end of the flow? It would greatly simplify flow debugging.
Thanjs

vertigo
Posts: 147
Joined: 28 Oct 2018 00:28

Re: Manual start of flow

Post by vertigo » 12 May 2020 05:08

+1 to this. I think the best way would be to add an action when selecting or maybe long-pressing a block (any block, not just a condition) to start executing the flow from that point. Such a feature would save me a lot of time and make troubleshooting as well as just figuring out what works and what doesn't so much easier.

User avatar
Desmanto
Posts: 2709
Joined: 21 Jul 2017 17:50

Re: Manual start of flow

Post by Desmanto » 12 May 2020 17:16

I also create an expression trigger == "Manual" and connect it to bypass the expression I put in multiple parallel expression.

A long press on an element and then have icon to denote "start execution" from current element until the end, would be great.
Index of Automagic useful thread List of my other useful posts (and others')
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 (whyred), AOSP Extended v6.7 build 20200310 Official, Android Pie 9.0, Rooted.

vertigo
Posts: 147
Joined: 28 Oct 2018 00:28

Re: Manual start of flow

Post by vertigo » 12 May 2020 18:43

Yeah, I do that, too, but there are a couple problems. First, I sometimes use a manual trigger for other stuff, not to mention the "hassle" of having to create the trigger for testing. More importantly, I often want to test something a fair distance away from the start, and you can't tap and drag the plus icon to the edge of the screen and scroll the screen to it, so you have to drag the start (often after disconnecting it from the other block(s) it's connected to, to prevent other parts of the flow from running during the test) to the edge of the screen, then pan the screen, then drag it some more, then pan the screen again, and so on, to get to the part you want to test, connect it, test, then disconnect and repeat the process to put the start back. This is why a long-press action would really be helpful.

bogdyro
Posts: 240
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 15:14

Re: Manual start of flow

Post by bogdyro » 19 May 2020 18:27

Selecting a block has 4 actions, one on each side. How about adding another icon that does 'start flow from here'. This would make the process alot faster.

Locked