go over all apps to set notification

Share and discuss your flows and ideas with other users.

Moderator: Martin

yxd0018
Posts: 69
Joined: 05 Dec 2018 15:14

Re: go over all apps to set notification

Post by yxd0018 » 01 Mar 2019 19:52

Thanks for the flow.
1) I will separate out app selection part into separate flow for reuse purpose. Wish automatic can have builtin one just for installed apps.
2) Martin probably need to make value of set notification support var.

yxd0018
Posts: 69
Joined: 05 Dec 2018 15:14

Re: go over all apps to set notification

Post by yxd0018 » 02 Mar 2019 13:22

A few ideas after looking at the flow:
1.condition after selection has too much hidden tasks inside. I would separate out into new action.
2. Is there a way to have select all/unselect all? Clicking through all the apps is pia.

yxd0018
Posts: 69
Joined: 05 Dec 2018 15:14

Re: go over all apps to set notification

Post by yxd0018 » 02 Mar 2019 17:01

I find when I edit script the Gboard keyboard get very slow and cursor becomes random. I think the spell check might get into the way. Did you encounter the issue? Is there action to disable spell check ?

User avatar
Desmanto
Posts: 1757
Joined: 21 Jul 2017 17:50

Re: go over all apps to set notification

Post by Desmanto » 02 Mar 2019 17:23

yxd0018 wrote:Thanks for the flow.
1) I will separate out app selection part into separate flow for reuse purpose. Wish automatic can have builtin one just for installed apps.
2) Martin probably need to make value of set notification support var.
1. I usually just copy out the script/action to other flow, making the flow independent. Although this mean if I change the logic, I have to change other flow too. But most of my flow are quite specific anyway, so no problem. Input dialog to select app has ever been requested, as far as I remember.
2. Yes, this can be requested in Feature request subforum
yxd0018 wrote:A few ideas after looking at the flow:
1.condition after selection has too much hidden tasks inside. I would separate out into new action.
2. Is there a way to have select all/unselect all? Clicking through all the apps is pia.
1. I usually just combine it to have shorter flow and element execution. This will increase efficiency at the cost of readability. But I just put some comment to make it still understandable
2. Currently no, also has been requested if I am not wrong. To preselect all once, you can use my trick. But that require to edit the flow again, which is not convenient. I just wish we can have search feature in input dialog. Maybe we should rerequest this altogether.

Gboard slowing down has been discussed in other thread : viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7578
Currently there is no clear solution and Martin also hasn't found out the culprit. I am using SmartKeyboard, so don't suffer from the slowdown.
Index of Automagic useful thread List of my other useful posts (and others')
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 (whyred), Resurrection Remix Official 7.0.2 20190512, Pie 9.0, Rooted.

yxd0018
Posts: 69
Joined: 05 Dec 2018 15:14

Re: go over all apps to set notification

Post by yxd0018 » 02 Mar 2019 17:57

I modified your flow to
1. Separate into 2 flows. So my start of day flow can use it.
2. Move checked options upfront
3. Add checkall/uncheckall with stupid impl
4. Refactor the condition to make it easier for me.
Attachments
set_notif.zip
(3.1 KiB) Downloaded 25 times

yxd0018
Posts: 69
Joined: 05 Dec 2018 15:14

Re: go over all apps to set notification

Post by yxd0018 » 03 Mar 2019 03:18

Desmanto wrote: Gboard slowing down has been discussed in other thread : viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7578
Currently there is no clear solution and Martin also hasn't found out the culprit. I am using SmartKeyboard, so don't suffer from the slowdown.
Get the smart keyboard pro and it's faster than gboard even outside of automagic. Bought it right away. Thanks.
Reused my subroutine to set up other configure. Better than hard code each time.

User avatar
Desmanto
Posts: 1757
Joined: 21 Jul 2017 17:50

Re: go over all apps to set notification

Post by Desmanto » 03 Mar 2019 07:43

There you are. I also think about the same, to check/uncheck all. We kind need this button now in input dialog - multiple choices. Even better, input dialog - app selection. And ability to find in the input dialog, just like Automagic default built-in app selection.

Of coz smartkeyboard is way much faster. The apk size only around 2,5 MB, while Gboard already too bloated until 70+ MB. I don't need those extra things provided by Gboard, so better use the most efficient one.
Index of Automagic useful thread List of my other useful posts (and others')
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 (whyred), Resurrection Remix Official 7.0.2 20190512, Pie 9.0, Rooted.

yxd0018
Posts: 69
Joined: 05 Dec 2018 15:14

Re: go over all apps to set notification

Post by yxd0018 » 04 Mar 2019 02:43

I found the weakness of smart keyboard. The non-english ime is the worst I have seen. I barely can use it to type Chinese.
Now I need to figure out a flow to change keyboard while switching to automagic.

User avatar
Desmanto
Posts: 1757
Joined: 21 Jul 2017 17:50

Re: go over all apps to set notification

Post by Desmanto » 04 Mar 2019 05:31

I sometimes use the japanese keyboard, and seldom chinese. As I type so far, still ok. If I need handwriting, then I have to switch to google handwriting keyboard, that's it.

To switch keyboard, as explained by ariloc in other thread, just use Set Default Input Method, with Trigger App Task Started/Ended on Automagic.
Index of Automagic useful thread List of my other useful posts (and others')
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 (whyred), Resurrection Remix Official 7.0.2 20190512, Pie 9.0, Rooted.

yxd0018
Posts: 69
Joined: 05 Dec 2018 15:14

Re: go over all apps to set notification

Post by yxd0018 » 04 Mar 2019 11:50

Thanks. Done with hackers keyboard. So far so good.

Post Reply