Send Adress data from SMS to Google maps app

Share and discuss your flows and ideas with other users.

Moderator: Martin

Loupblanc

Send Adress data from SMS to Google maps app

Post by Loupblanc » 12 Mar 2018 14:46

Hi!
I'm a voluntary firefighter in Zurich, Switzerland. We get alarm short messages on our cell phones. This message contains address data, where the fire / accident / patient is. I'd like to automatically copy this address data from the message text, start the Google Map app and paste the address to it, so it would automatically start a navigation solution.
I guess I'll need to copy / paste the variable {sms_text}. But how can I start Google map and paste the variable to it as a navigation destination?
Usually, Google map can handle texts that contain some address data and pick up the address from it. But not in all cases.
Alarm short messages look like that:
[Alarmed unit]: [S for siren] [alarm type] [CITY] [STREET] [STREET-NR] [Additional information]
Example (not a real case):
KA T1: S Gasaustritt im Gebaeude KLEINANDELFINGEN SCHAFFHAUSERSTR. 24 Volg
or
FR: S First Responder Basic KLEINANDELFINGEN SCHAFFHAUSERSTR. 24 Im EG Fam. Muster
So, maybe the {sms_text} will have to be processed in between, so only the address data will be extracted and passed to Google map. I don't know, how to do that.
As there are no dividers in the message, the only indication for address data is the upper case text (but not the one at the beginning of the message). But this is not reliable, because we already got a message like this one:
KA T1: S BMA ANDELFINGEN MITTELDORFWEG 25 EFH bei Mustermann --> where BMA and EFH is no address data (BMA= Brandmeldeanlage; EFH=Einfamilienhaus) !
Possibly, this would be the shortest [alarm type] we can get. So, if we start seeking for upper case after text pos. 13, that would be ok.

Anybody interested in this challenging task?
Thank you!

Desmanto

Re: Send Adress data from SMS to Google maps app