Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post your questions and help other users.

Moderator: Martin

Post Reply
Maxmyd
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Feb 2020 20:16

Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post by Maxmyd » 14 Feb 2020 08:41

Hi.
I have set up a workflow based on location trigger, when exiting some location, app must set volume and WiFi state. Problem is that sometimes it won't execute until I open the app. Can you please say if there's any workaround or correct settings to make it work as expected?
Phone model is Honor 20.
Thanks

User avatar
Desmanto
Posts: 2709
Joined: 21 Jul 2017 17:50

Re: Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post by Desmanto » 14 Feb 2020 16:44

What is the android version? Honor is Huawei subbrand, they use the same EMUI, same problem with the power saver : https://dontkillmyapp.com/huawei
Uninstall the power genie, or any task killer. They do more harm than benefit. It cause Automagic to be killed/limited and can't perform the flow properly.

If you are already on androdi 10, then you have to go the location permission for Automagic and choose always enable location for Automagic. It is limitation from Google in android 10 to prevent app using location in background service.
Index of Automagic useful thread List of my other useful posts (and others')
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 (whyred), AOSP Extended v6.7 build 20200310 Official, Android Pie 9.0, Rooted.

Maxmyd
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Feb 2020 20:16

Re: Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post by Maxmyd » 15 Feb 2020 11:55

It's Android 9, forgot to mention that.
Honor 20 doesn't have EMUI, it has MagicUI v2.1, I suppose it's something different and does not have PowerGenie app.
I have to say other triggers execute properly, I have time based trigger which works fine, except it always starts 2 minutes earlier :) Also I have time based trigger with the following location condition which also works fine.
I think the problem could be about those "entering" and 'exiting" checkboxes, they sometimes won't work.

User avatar
Desmanto
Posts: 2709
Joined: 21 Jul 2017 17:50

Re: Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post by Desmanto » 16 Feb 2020 15:14

I always thought they are the same, just like Oppo and vivo which have different OS name, but very similar flavor. If all other trigger are working fine, then you should be safe from the limitation.

I rarely use Location trigger, because I don't turn on the location feature high accuracy all the time. You might need to try to enable high accuracy location all the time to see if it works properly. It can be that the google play services too late to report the location
Index of Automagic useful thread List of my other useful posts (and others')
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 (whyred), AOSP Extended v6.7 build 20200310 Official, Android Pie 9.0, Rooted.

Maxmyd
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Feb 2020 20:16

Re: Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post by Maxmyd » 16 Feb 2020 20:53

You might need to try to enable high accuracy location all the time to see if it works properly
How do I do that? It was in classic mode, turned it to Modern now just to check out if it helps. Any other preferences I don't know?

User avatar
Desmanto
Posts: 2709
Joined: 21 Jul 2017 17:50

Re: Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post by Desmanto » 17 Feb 2020 05:14

You can try the modern too. What I mean above is android location feature. We have battery saving mode, which use cellular network to get position. It is not accurate. To get more accurate, you need to enable high accuracy (enable GPS).
Index of Automagic useful thread List of my other useful posts (and others')
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 (whyred), AOSP Extended v6.7 build 20200310 Official, Android Pie 9.0, Rooted.

Maxmyd
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Feb 2020 20:16

Re: Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post by Maxmyd » 17 Feb 2020 18:09

Its still not working properly, sometimes works, sometimes doesn't. Will try to find some workarounds. Not sure if I love the idea of keeping GPS always on, consumes too much.
But anyway thanks for replies.
GL

Micky Micky
Posts: 172
Joined: 16 Oct 2019 17:38

Re: Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post by Micky Micky » 17 Feb 2020 19:54

GPS won't be on all the time. The trigger checks every 4 minutes. Lots of things outside of Automagic check your location using GPS. I think Android has two methods: coarse and fine. They're probably using coarse.

I've had problems with the triggers not executing for 10 minutes. Upon reading this post I switched from Classic to Modern and one triggered perfectly. Too early to say if the problem is solved though.

As Desmanto says, you need to enable high accuracy.

Good luck.
Crude but it works.

Maxmyd
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Feb 2020 20:16

Re: Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post by Maxmyd » 05 Mar 2020 15:47

As Desmanto says, you need to enable high accuracy.
How do I do that?

User avatar
Desmanto
Posts: 2709
Joined: 21 Jul 2017 17:50

Re: Workflow based on location trigger won't execute

Post by Desmanto » 05 Mar 2020 18:42

Enable the GPS at the quick setting. It is the same one you enable when using google maps, so that it can detect your location accurately (up to several meters accuracy). The setting location can be in different location, but usually you still can find the toggle in the quick setting.
Index of Automagic useful thread List of my other useful posts (and others')
Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 (whyred), AOSP Extended v6.7 build 20200310 Official, Android Pie 9.0, Rooted.

Post Reply